Dinner

Crock Pot Peperoncini Beef Sandwiches

I think August might be my least favorite month. I didn’t even know I had a least favorite until now. I’m one of those people that love every season because they each bring something different. If you were to ask me which one is my favorite I would probably start with fall and give you a reason but then say I love winter for the exact opposite reason and then continue to tell you why I love spring and summer. I just can’t decide because they are all so great. It’s like picking a favorite Friends character. It just simply can’t be done. Who am I kidding, Joey is clearly the best. But I finally decided August is my least favorite. There isn’t really anything fun that happens during August (except every 4 years when the Olympics happen and then it’s just the best) it’s just hot. Around August 5th I start wishing it was fall because September and October are so much better than August. They bring college football, scarves, pumpkin spice lattes, sweaters, falling leaves, and crisp cool air. So much better than sweaty August.

This year was extra bad because I went most of the summer without an air conditioner (I finally got one last week on the hottest day of the year!). A New York summer without an air conditioner is no fun. You sweat on the subway, the streets, and in your apartment. I know in the big scheme of things it really isn’t that big of a deal but it seriously wasn’t fun. I also pretty much refused to turn my oven on. I could not find a good enough reason to heat my already 90 degree apartment another 10 degrees by turning it on. Nothing is worth that. That is why these sandwiches were an answer to my prayers. They are so so so so good and the easiest meal in the world. I just want to hug the person that invented the crock pot. They deserve a gold medal for being the best person in the world.

These sandwiches require 4 ingredients and zero prep work. Get your crock pot out throw the beef chuck roast in there, a pinch of salt, and pour the peperoncinis on top and let that baby cook for as long as possible. Seriously, the meat comes out so juicy and tender. The juice from the peperoncinis do something magical to the meat. I’m not even a sandwich person and after I made these for the first time I think I dreamed about them for a week. They are seriously so good. The peperoncinis are not spicy so don’t worry about that if you aren’t a fan of heat. These peppers are sweet and add an amazing flavor to the roast. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

IMG_3645
Proof that I only added the chuck roast and peperoncinis to the crock pot. 

If you don’t have a lot of time for weeknight meals this is absolutely perfect because they make great leftovers too. All you have to do is reheat the meat and toast the bread with some cheese and you have a delicious and hearty meal in 5 minutes flat. After my rant about not turning the oven on I do have to admit you turn the oven on for like 5 minutes for this meal but if you realllllly don’t want to you wouldn’t have to. I just like crunchy bread and melty cheese. To avoid too much heat I don’t think I even let my oven get all the way pre-heated. I turned it on to 375º while I got everything ready and prepped my bread and cheese and then threw the bread in for 5 minutes which was just enough time to let the cheese get all melty and delicious. My oven was seriously only on for about 7 minutes so I don’t count it. IMG_3651

Make these sandwiches and do a little happy dance as your home fills with the most amazing aroma! Let me know you made them and share them on social media by tagging #MakinzesMakings

Crock Pot Beef Peperoncini SandwichesIMG_3648
Ingredients
  • 2lbs beef chuck roast
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 (16 oz) jar sliced peperoncini peppers
  • Italian baguette or bread of choice
  • Havarti or swiss cheese
Directions
  1. Place the beef chuck roast in a crock pot and season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Pour the entire jar of sliced peperoncinis on top. Cover with a lid and cook on low for 8 hours.
  2. When you are ready to eat, shred the meat with two forks. Keep meat in the crock pot with the juices.
  3. Place sliced bread on a cookie sheet open faced and with a slice of cheese. Toast bread in 375º oven until cheese melts, about 5 minutes.
  4. With a slotted spoon, top each portion of bread with meat and peppers.
  5. Serve immediately and enjoy!

 

Recipe from A Year of Slow Cooking

Leave a Reply

