Dinner

Fish Tacos

They say you learn from your mistakes. Well, my classmates and I learned the hard (and funny) way that you should always check the oven for hot cross buns before turning it off and leaving for the day. Oops.

IMG_3506

Throughout college I had several different roommates and they were all amazing. Some I hardly knew anything about before moving in with them and some I creepily wanted to be best friends with since the moment I met them, but they all eventually did become my best friends. Something really fun my roommates and I did together was cooking for each other. We all had a night of the week that was our night to cook. We sat around the dinner table together like a little family and those were some of my favorite times together. We would also invite other friends over and girls we were trying to get to know better.  I always loved how amazed a first time guest would be that we were serving a real and delicious home cooked meal. OU has a pretty great caf but nothing beats a home cooked meal. Nothing. And I don’t mean to brag or anything but we really did serve up some amazing meals. We even have a cookbook to prove it. Seriously, we compiled all of our recipes together and made the Huntington Manor Cookbook and it’s by far my most used cookbook.

Those meals were so much fun and nothing brought my heart more joy than having a full table. Some of my most cherished memories happened around that table at the Huntington Manor and during all of the spontaneous late night dance parties in the living room, those were pretty great too.  This is also one of the reasons I decided to pursue a career in food. I learned that everyone is happier after enjoying a delicious meal with friends. Great friendships start over a shared meal and I love playing a part in that moment.

IMG_3509My roommate of three years, Avery, brought these fish tacos into our lives and we were never the same. They are seriously one of my favorite meals and make an absolutely perfect summer meal. They are so easy and fast and couldn’t be tastier. I think we all dreamed about these fish tacos for a week after trying them for the first time. They are that good. Trust me.

Pepper jack cheese is melted on top of tostadas and then topped with black beans, taco seasoned tilapia, creamy avocado, feta cheese, and then a splash of fresh lime juice. The only thing I added to my fish tacos is some jalapeño ranch because seriously that stuff makes everything better. Some days I decide what I want for dinner based on what I can put jalapeño ranch on. No joke, I have done that on multiple occasions.

IMG_3512

You need to make these fish tacos, like yesterday. Everyone loves these bad boys. They get a well deserved round of applause every time they are served. This is a great dish to impress your friends with and they never have to know it is seriously the easiest dish in the world to make and comes together in under 30 minutes. Even if you think you aren’t a big fan of fish you still have to give these a try. Tilapia is the mildest fish and doesn’t have a strong fish taste at all and its covered in taco seasoning so you really don’t taste the fish. We always served these with fresh strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries and it’s the perfect accompaniment. Now, go and invite your closest friends over for dinner and serve them some fish tacos! They will love you more than ever before. I promise.

Fish Tacos

Yields 4 servingsIMG_3526

Ingredients
  • 3 Tilapia filets
  • 1 (1 oz) taco seasoning packet
  • 8 (5 in) tostada shells
  • 2 cups pepper jack cheese
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • Avocado, sliced
  • Crumbled feta cheese
  • Lime wedges
  • Jalapeno ranch
Directions
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375°
  2. Cook tilapia over medium-high heat for 1-2 minutes on each side. Cover the fish in taco seasoning and crumble the fish as it continues to cook. Cook fully, about 5 minutes more. Keep warm.
  3. Gently mash the black beans in a small sauce pot and warm over low heat, stirring occasionally, until heated through, 5-7 minutes.
  4. Place tostadas on a cookie sheet and sprinkle pepper jack cheese evenly on top of the tostadas. Place in oven until cheese is melted, about 5 minutes.
  5. To serve, spoon some black beans on top of the melted cheese, then top with seasoned tilapia, avocados, feta cheese, and jalapeño ranch. Squeeze a lime over finished tacos. Serve immediately.
2 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

  1. Even though I am not a fish eater I am making these fish tacos for my husband for supper. I will switch out the fish for another meat for my self. Yum! I really enjoy your blog. Keep posting your wonderful recipes! 💗💗💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

